top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

"DisneyBounding" With Ariel


So many little girls dream of being a princess, more often than not a Disney princess. My Disney heroine was Princess Ariel. She had awesome hair, a beautiful voice, and she was a mermaid. What more could I have wanted in my life as a ten year old with long, strawberry-blonde hair, a love for singing, and a swimming pool in my backyard? I was already practically her!

Of course, by the time you get into college, all your dreams of becoming a Disney princess are far gone, and you would never even think to dress up like one, dress up your boyfriend as the correlating prince, and drag him to Disneyland to wait in line for almost an hour to take a picture with a Disney princess face character. . .

You already know where I am going with this.

Yes, after Nathan had bought us Anual Passes for my 21st birthday (best birthday ever may I add), I decided it was time to give this "DisneyBounding" a shot. I pulled together an outfit that somewhat represented Ariel as a mermaid (because why she ever wanted to be a human, I don't know), and then made sure Nathan's outfit was as exact as it could be to represent Prince Eric. Thankfully, Eric is a casual kind of guy who likes to keep it simple.

Now, I was really excited. I had only met Ariel once before. My first time meeting Ariel at Disneyland was when I was almost 19 years old, when I took my college roommate from Colorado on her first trip to Disneyland. She had always wanted to meet Cinderella, and so we waited in line to get her autograph. Moments before being let into the area for the Meet & Greet, I found out Ariel had just joined Cinderella and Mulan, taking Belle's place for the afternoon. I almost hyperventilated. I wasn't ready for it. I didn't even have anything for her to sign. Here I am, an 18 year old college student having a mini panick attack over the fact that I am about to meet a woman, probably my age, dressed up to look similar to an animated mermaid I have obsessed over my entire life.

Carrying on . . .

Two and a half years later, here I am, waiting in that same line to meet the same princess. But this time I'm more composed. Nathan standing by my side, we waited in line for almost an hour until the "squire" opened the door for us to enter.

First we said hi to Cinderella. She was pretty cool.

Next we met Aurora. She seemed pretty tired.

And then we met Ariel!

I showed off my outfit a little bit before suggesting she check out Nathan's outfit. But before I could say anything, she took one look at Nathan and said, "He looks like he raided my husband's wardrobe!"

As silly as it sounds, that's all I remember about that entire two minutes, but it was enough to make me still smile two years later just thinking about it. And I guess that's all that really counts.

Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page