top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

Stuffed Blueberry French Toast Bake


My absolute favorite breakfast meal is french toast. Almost every time we go out to breakfast, that's what I order. When I first came across the recipe for Stuffed Blueberry French Toast Bake, I knew I just had to make it.

I have to say I was pretty nervous to make it. I had never made anything like it before, especially the blueberry sauce, but in the end it proved itself to be an easy meal to make. The best part about it was that it was so filling, I didn't have to make anything else on the side. I decided to make it for my Grandpa today as he was coming to visit our place for the first time.

Stuffed Blueberry French Toast

• Hubby Approved

• Gramps Approved

• Time: 15 min Prep, Overnight Fridge, 1 hour bake

• Level of Difficulty: Easy

Ingredients

- 12 slices white bread, cut into 1 inch cubes

- 2 cups fresh blueberries

- (2) 8oz packages of cream cheese

- 12 eggs, beaten

- 2 cups milk

- 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

- 1/3 cup maple syrup

-1 cup white sugar

- 2 tablespoons cornstarch

- 1 cup water

- 1 tablespoon butter

Recipe

1. Lightly grease 9x13 inch baking dish. Arrange half of the bread cubes in the dish, top with cream cheese cubes and 1 cup of blueberries. Top off with remaining bread cubes.

2. In a large bowl, mix eggs, milk, vanilla extract, and syrup. Pour over top layer of bread cubes.

3. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

4. Remove from fridge 30 minutes before baking. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

5. Cover and bake 30 minutes. Uncover, and continue baking for 25-30 minutes (center firm and surface lightly browned).

6. In medium saucepan, mix sugar, cornstarch, and water. Bring to a boil. Stir constantly for 3 to 4 minutes. Mix in 1 cup of blueberries. Reduce heat, and simmer for 10 minutes (until blueberries burst). Stir in butter and pour the mixture over the baked French toast.

My Experience

ALWAYS remember to grease the pan. Thankfully I caught myself (it was 10pm and I was tired). I had to take the bread out and put it back in, but it was definitely worth it.

Cutting cream cheese into cubes was a lot harder than I had imagined it to be. They stuck to everything! The packaging, the cutting board, the knife, my fingers . . . I was so glad when this step was over. Also, next time I might make smaller cubes. Some bites ended up with either too much cream cheese or not enough.

I love blueberries . . . so I added a little more than just one cup.

I didn't have enough eggs. I thought I had a full carton of 18 eggs in the fridge, but I only had 10. The recipe calls for 12, but, honestly, I don't thing it made a huge difference. I also used Almond milk because I am lactose intolerant. I like to believe that because the milk was vanilla flavored it might have added to the taste.

Beat eggs before mixing them with all other ingredients. I spilled a little trying to break apart one yoke. My mistake. Again, it was late, and I was tired.

When making the blueberry sauce, I realized this meal has a LOT of sugar. But it was kind of cool to see the ingredients turn into something that I normally buy in a bottle labeled "Knott's Real Blueberry Syrup."

The end result was amazing! Each of us had seconds, and I packed another serving for my grandpa to have tomorrow morning. I have to say, it definitely took longer to make than traditional French toast, but it is also much more convenient when serving for three or more people. I highly recommend making this for holiday brunches, family get-togethers, or any kind of breakfast gathering.

*Fun Note* I attended a Baptism this afternoon after making this, only to find out our friend's mom had also made her own version of this for a gathering this morning!

Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page